Let’s Sit Here and Do Nothing

I understand things are not going great in ye olde economy right now.  There needs to be much belt tightening and saving and reducing in order to get the U.S. national debt in check (something that will not happen EVER).  It just makes me sick though to see that NASA is taking yet another budget hit.  They are now cancelling all of their proposed Flagship missions for the immediate future (good article here).  Flagship missions are the big billion dollar projects (Voyager and Cassini) that NASA launches every decade or so.  The two that were in the planning stages were a sample return mission to Mars and another probe to visit Europa to see if there really are oceans under its ice crust.

You would think though that the government could find money somewhere to keep these important programs going.  Yes, I know there are many other things that are losing funding as well, but this is my pet pony (I call him Zazzles) and I hate to see good science lost to politics.  I bet the military could have lost the 300 million that is being cut from planetary exploration.  Don’t get me wrong, I am not a get rid of the military type.  Anyone that knows me, knows that I love weapons.  I believe we should have a strong military, but come on they are getting +600 billion.  I think a few hundred million could have been spared for NASA.

I have to wonder if the U.S. weren’t falling so far behind in Science and Math education if this wouldn’t have been a problem.

Just a thought.

, , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

