The Sweet Smell of Rejection

Received another rejection to my query for The Third Age yesterday.  That one sucked a little bit more than others as the agent was with one of the preeminent Sci Fi/Fantasy agencies.

I am surprised that I haven’t heard back from more of them (either positive or negative).  Many agents have a “no response means no” policy, but based off the number I sent out, I should have heard back from a few more.  Granted today marks the 1 month mark since I sent the bulk of them out, and I know from Query Tracker that some of them are taking longer to respond.  So I guess there still is hope.

We will see.

, ,

  1. #1 by Jess on February 4, 2012 - 8:19 am

    I got one a couple of days ago, too (on one of my fulls). The agent was very nice and shared notes with me, offering to read it again if I decided to revise…she was right about everything, of course, but I think I’m just going to trunk this one and concentrate on a different project. I hear you on the crickets~ I’ve had a few queries (to agents who say they respond with rejections) that have been out for almost 8 weeks. Some people say that no response is better than a rejection, but I’d rather know and have closure. We got 8-12 more inches last night. It looks like we never spent that hour shoveling yesterday.

    • #2 by jpingersoll on February 4, 2012 - 11:02 am

      Lame. Sorry to hear about the rejection. At least you got some good notes back. That is a small silver lining. Writing is certainly not easy on the ego.

Leave a Reply

